Author Topic: HD 7970 - anyone need?  (Read 801 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rom

  • RS Member
  • Member: GOLDEN THUNDERBALLZ
  • *****
  • Posts: 3313
  • DCS A-10C
HD 7970 - anyone need?
« Topic Start: October 19, 2016, 01:17:24 PM »
Are any of you guys behind enough to where you could use a 7970?

I bought a used GTX 970, and have Dolph's 7970 which I bought from him a while ago.


Lemme know.

Offline RS-Dolph

  • Administrator
  • Member: GOLDEN THUNDERBALLZ
  • *****
  • Posts: 4357
Re: HD 7970 - anyone need?
« Reply #1: November 29, 2016, 07:03:40 PM »
I've got a GTX 970 sitting on my desk collecting dust too.
It's the EVGA Superclocked fancy pants one.

Offline Rom

  • RS Member
  • Member: GOLDEN THUNDERBALLZ
  • *****
  • Posts: 3313
  • DCS A-10C
Re: HD 7970 - anyone need?
« Reply #2: November 30, 2016, 09:46:21 PM »
Ahhh wtf man, since when?

Offline RS-Dolph

  • Administrator
  • Member: GOLDEN THUNDERBALLZ
  • *****
  • Posts: 4357
Re: HD 7970 - anyone need?
« Reply #3: December 01, 2016, 03:57:09 AM »
Since I bought a 980 Ti a few months ago.

Offline GenG

  • RS Member
  • Member: Operation THUNDERBALLZ
  • *****
  • Posts: 1848
Re: HD 7970 - anyone need?
« Reply #4: December 03, 2016, 07:13:52 PM »
If you give me $50, you can mail it to me.
Member of Ranger Squad for 8 years and counting!

Offline RS-Bocephus

  • Administrator
  • Member: Operation THUNDERBALLZ
  • *****
  • Posts: 1924
  • Past, & once again current, bearer of "The Beard"
Re: HD 7970 - anyone need?
« Reply #5: December 05, 2016, 11:13:46 AM »
I've got a GTX 970 sitting on my desk collecting dust too.
It's the EVGA Superclocked fancy pants one.

You upgraded from the 7970 to this 970?  Was it a significant performance boost?

I've got a 7970 and just bought a G-Sync monitor on Cyber Monday (still haven't gotten it yet due to some shipping issue).  I really don't get a chance to play much anymore but am still interested.  Maybe new stuff will push me back into it...

Offline Rom

  • RS Member
  • Member: GOLDEN THUNDERBALLZ
  • *****
  • Posts: 3313
  • DCS A-10C
Re: HD 7970 - anyone need?
« Reply #6: December 06, 2016, 07:37:40 PM »
I can't really say, but by selling the old one, and buying a used one, it didn't cost much.

The 970 is handling BF1 very well, and I'm on i7-2600K.

Offline RS-Swan

  • RS Member
  • Member: Operation THUNDERBALLZ
  • *****
  • Posts: 1232
Re: HD 7970 - anyone need?
« Reply #7: December 06, 2016, 11:15:49 PM »
This would hold you over a little longer atl 269 after mail in rebate. http://www.evga.com/products/product.aspx?pn=06G-P4-4996-RX
120$ after Mail in rebate. (By far the best deal I've ever seen) http://www.evga.com/products/product.aspx?pn=04G-P4-3975-RX

That being said the 970 has done great for me as well in bf1 even with my ancient rig.